Jr. NBA Rookie Division

Jr. NBA Rookie Division is a national youth basketball program for children ages 5 to 7 that encourages a fun, active and healthy learning environment. The 12–week curriculum complies with Sport 4 Life’s Long Term Athlete Development Model (LTAD) and is aligned with Canada Basketball’s Development Pathway. Jr. NBA Rookie Division is a turnkey program, providing hosts with the full curriculum, participant materials, and coach training required to deliver the programming. Not only will participants learn the fundamental skills of the game of basketball through fun, engaging games, they will also be taught essential life skills including leadership, sportsmanship, teamwork, and respect. The focus is on FUN—get involved!

For more information please visit the Jr. NBA website.

Process to Host

Curriculum

  • Weekly 45 minute practices for 12 weeks (Designed for athletes ages 5-7)
  • Aligned with Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) and Sport for Life (S4L) principles
  • Curriculum developed by NBA Basketball Operations and a team of experts in child development and physical literacy
  • Modified games that are age-appropriate, simple and FUN!

Coaching

  • Jr. NBA Coach Training provided for FREE by Jr. NBA Ambassadors

Cost

  • Based on facility and staffing costs associated with the local program

Equipment and Uniform

  • Program will include age-appropriate equipment (smaller basketballs and Spalding adjustable hoops)
  • Participants will receive a size-appropriate Spalding Rookie Gear Basketball and NBA team branded t-shirt

Process

The program is growing rapidly across the province and we would love for YOU to be involved! If you have any questions, please contact your Jr. NBA Ambassador (below), or email Marlon Piedrahita directly:

Marlon Piedrahita
Hamilton-Niagara, Peel, West, Kitchener-Waterloo

To play in the Jr. NBA Rookie Division, contact a program in your area.

The focus is on fun – get involved!

City or townOrganizationMain contactE-mail
KanataKanata Youth Basketball Association (KYBA)Owen Kelkowen.g.kelk@gmail.com
MiltonMilton Stags BasketballMike Borlonganmike@stagsbasketball.com
BarrieNext Level BasketballScott Seeleyscottseels@hotmail.com
SimcoeNorfolk Youth BasketballJean Montgomerymonty6@sympatico.ca
HamiltonBlitz BasketballStefano Giovannangelistefgio@yahoo.com
ChathamChatham Kent WildcatsJamie Ireland jireland@teksavvy.com
KingstonKingston Impact Basketball ClubGillian DeMelogilliandemelo27@hotmail.com
CobourgYMCA NorthumberlandCarrie Hawleychawley@ymcanorthumberland.com
OrleansGloucester Cumberland Basketball AssociationJanet Caperng_cbasketball@yahoo.ca
StouffvilleTown of Whitchchurch-StouffvilleJen McEachenjen.mceachen@townofws.ca
AncasterAncaster Basketball ClubRob Bowdenancastermagic@icloud.com
TorontoSouth Toronto Golden Eagles Basketball ClubChris Marcinkiewiczinfo@goldeneaglesbasketball.ca
BracebridgeBracebridge Breakers Basketball ClubRon Lovebracebridgebball@gmail.com
OttawaOttawa South Basketball AssociationGeoff Cramptoninfo@ottawasouthbasketball.ca
TorontoToronto Lords Basketball AssociationBob Clarkelordsbasketball@gmail.com
BarrieYMCA BarrieJocelyn Hayjocelyn_hay@ymca.ca
AlmonteNaismith Basketball AssociationStephanie Leenaismithpresident@gmail.com
ConcordCanadian Basketball AcademyGraham Erksineadmin@canadabasketball.com
Kirkland LakeMile of Gold Basketball ClubColette Cartercolette.carter@dsb1.ca
YorkBasketball World TorontoMichael Reiomreio@bwt.ca
OshawaSt. Kateri TekakwithaLucia Goodwinlucia.goodwin@dcdsb.ca
WellandWelland Minor BasketballRita Ventresca-Rootrita.ventresca-root@sympatico.ca
GuelphGuelph Youth Basketball AssociationRemel Oandasanremel_oadasan@hotmail.com
TorontoAlbion Boys and Girls ClubKhudaija Sheikhkhudaija@albionservices.ca
LondonGold Medal Basketball CampJudy Provenzanoaprovenzano13@gmail.com
ScarboroughTriple Balance Community CentreChris Skinnerchrisskinner@triplebalance.ca
KitchenerKW Youth Basketball AssociationMike Quigleycoachqwlu@hotmail.com
Port ColbornePort Colborne Youth BasketballBarclay Walkerbarclay.walker@cegeco.ca
NewmarketBayan BasketballPatrick Doonbayan1260@hotmail.com
TorontoCanadian Chineses Youth Athletic AssociationClement Chuclement@ccyaa.org
OakvilleOakville Family YMCADarcy Rolanddarcyro@oakville.ymca.ca
Facebook reports: An access token is required to request this resource.

Contact

Ontario Basketball

Marlon Piedrahita
Coordinator, Community Development

Jr. NBA Ambassadors

Marlon Piedrahita
Hamilton-Niagara, Peel, West, Kitchener-Waterloo

Omari Wiltshire
Capital-Kingston, Durham-York, Toronto, North