

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members (AMM) of Ontario Basketball (OBA) Held Virtually on Saturday, October 28, 2023

1. Call to Order (Parliamentarian)

The meeting was called to order by Board President, Ryan Xavier at 11:08 a.m. who introduced himself, welcomed everyone joining the meeting. Ryan recognized Kathy Hare, Parliamentarian, who briefly reviewed the rules of order, went over the voting agenda for today.

2. Approval of Agenda

There was a motion to amend the agenda, adding the item 'Motion to Amend Articles of Incorporation', which is connected to the proposed amendment to By-Law 1 and requires membership approval. Motion moved by Sharifa Wilkinson and Ryan Xavier at 11:23am. Revised agenda is approved.

3. Opening Remarks (President)

Ryan Xavier opens the meeting speaking to the re-focussing of growing the game post-pandemic. Thanks OBA staff for their efforts in assisting with that feat. Addresses that there weren't any issues in participation from membership but acknowledges that there are issues with accessibility for programming. Vows that as on organization, OBA will continue to work to towards closing those gaps with the support of fellow board members. Ryan also acknowledges and congratulates Michael Bartlett of Canada Basketball for their continued to success and how that has translated to the PSO level. Passes the call to Michael Bartlett who reaffirms the progress of Canada Basketball with OBA. Speaks on the success of this past summer with various National teams along with the GLOBLJAM event. Thanks, OBA, for their continued assistance and collaboration in the delivery of the game to the province.

4. Appointment of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

Emily Acton and Mike Barbin were appointed as scrutineers at 11:22am.

5. Report of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

Emily Acton explained the voting process at 11:22am. Emily Acton announced 147 votes in the room and that quorum was thus met.

6. Minutes of Last Meeting – Annual Meeting of Members (February 25, 2023), and Approval

The members were asked to review the minutes of the 2023 Annual AMM and bring any corrections forward. With no corrections brought forward for the 2023 Annual AMM minutes, the minutes were deemed by Kathy Hare to be approved as printed. Moved by Ryan Xavier and Sharifa Wilkinson at 11:25am. Minutes have been approved.

7. Business Arising Out of the Minutes

No business arose out of the previous minutes.

8. Vote to Amend OBA By-Law 1 & Articles of Incorporation

The proposed amendment to the By-Law was presented. Moved by Ryan Xavier and Sharifa Wilkinson at 11:33am. Articles of Incorporation were moved by Ryan Xavier and Michael Joseph. Motion to approve the BDO Canada Auditing Report was moved by Ryan Xavier and Siobhan Wright at 11:34am.

9. New Business

At 11:27am, Kathy Hare announces the Board Election and named the nominees who were up for election. The nominees Chanel Williams (Not Present), Michael Joseph and Ryan Xavier. Michael Joseph shares his reason for re-election. Ryan Xavier shares his reason for re-election.

Emily Acton explains how to submit votes for the Board Election via ElectionBuddy via the email they used to register for this event at 11:35 am. Kathy Hare then announces the time for the voting process to begin.

Annual Report –Dave Stockton, Executive Director of OBA highlights how Ontario Basketball's programs have done will with overcoming the pandemic and thanks membership for their support. Also notes that OBA will be looking to revamp CP to be in line with Canada Basketball of the year of 2024. Thanks the Board for their ongoing support. Dave acknowledges the sudden passing of Greg Francis, a beloved member of the OBA and Canada Basketball.

At 11:46am, Liliya Serpukhova, Director of Finance, speaks and provides an overview of the auditors report which includes that Ontario Basketball exceeded \$6M for the year of 2022-2023.

Emily Acton shares the voting results of the board election at 11:49am. The elected Board Members are – Chanel Williams, Michael Joseph and Ryan Xavier. The By-Law 1 amendment is approved. BDO Canada are approved as auditors.

10. Closing Remarks

Ryan Xavier and Kathy Hare thanked everyone for joining the meeting today.

11. Termination of the Meeting

Kathy Hare terminated the meeting upon the conclusion of the closing remarks.

Annual Meeting of Members – Attendees

Present Board Members

Ryan Xavier Courtney Charles Michelle Farrell Michael Joseph Sharifa Wilkinson Siobhan Wright

Present Members

Chris Easton Lisa Deline Jeremy Cross

Non-Voting

Kathy Hare (Parliamentarian) Michael Bartlett (Canada Basketball) **Emily Acton** Mike Barbin Liliya Serpukhova Michael Selliah Kevin McDonald **Dave Stockton** Eugene Lam Carmelo Mallia Brianna Paszt M'Kyah Benjamin Matt Singleton Kaelan Lincoln-Shipley **Ray Harripaul** Jason Dawkins