

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Members (AMM) of Ontario Basketball (OBA) Held Virtually on Saturday, February 25, 2023

1. Call to Order (Parliamentarian)

The meeting was called to order by Parliamentarian Kathy Hare at 11:06 a.m. who introduced herself, welcomed everyone joining the meeting. Kathy Hare briefly reviewed the rules of order, and covered the meeting agenda.

2. Approval of Agenda

No changes to the agenda. Agenda is approved.

3. Opening Remarks (President)

John Rocchi opened by performing a land acknowledgement honoring the First Nations heritage of our land. John introduced the current board of directors. John also recognized John Wilkinson, OBA legal counsel, for joining the call and recognizes his service. John also acknowledges Michael Bartlett of Canada Basketball on the call. Passes the call to Michael who reaffirms the progress of Canada Basketball with OBA. Thanks, OBA, for the delivery of the game to the province.

4. Appointment of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

Mike Barbin, Emily Acton, and Regent Greg Verner were appointed as scrutineers.

5. Report of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

Mike Barbin explained the voting process. Emily Acton announced 498 votes in the room, and confirmed quorum had been. Moved by Sabrina Brathwaite & Mike Quigley.

6. Minutes of Last Meeting – Semi-Annual Meeting of Members (December 3, 2022), and Approval

The members were asked to review the minutes of the 2022 Semi-Annual AMM and bring any corrections forward. With no corrections brought forward for the 2022 Semi-Annual AMM minutes, the minutes were deemed by the Chair of the meeting to be approved as printed. Moved by Ryan Xavier and Sabrina Brathwaite. Minutes have been approved as is.

7. Business Arising Out of the Minutes

Sam Moncada wanted to question the validity of proxy votes. Kathy Hare advised that during the balloting in the New Business portion of the agenda would be the best time to discuss.

8. Vote to Amend OBA By-Law 1

The proposed amendment to the By-Law was presented. Moved by Gerry Mcllhone and Sabrina Brathwaite.

9. New Business

Sam Moncada proceeds to question the validity of the proxy votes for the new board. Mike Barbin and Emily Acton, Scrutineers, explained the process thoroughly which involves confirming paid membership via TeamSnap and SportSavvy. They explained that any ballots or proxies omitted were for one of the following reasons: 1) Received after the deadline of 11:59PM on Wednesday, February 22. 2) Member was under 18 at time of voting. 3) OBA had no record of membership dues paid for the person submitting a ballot or proxy between September 1, 2021 and February 3, 2023. 4) The same person signed a proxy for two different people and did not contact <u>communications@basketball.on.ca</u> to retract the earlier dated submission.

The Board Election then begins with Nominee Profiles. Each of the twelve nominees were given an optional two minutes to introduce themselves and their reason for running.

Kathy announced it was time for the voting process to begin. John Wilkinson speaks about amendments that are due for the by-laws in 2024 to meet compliance prior to.

Appointment of the Auditors – Moved by Jeffrey Orridge and Tom Liston.

Emily Acton explains how to submit votes for the Board Election via ElectionBuddy via the email they used to register for this event. An alternate method of voting was provided for eligible members who did not receive the ElectionBuddy link.

Voting commenced at 12:05pm.

Annual Report & Audited Financial Statements – Mike Quigley shared the financial numbers after the pandemic. Coach Daniel questioned the government grant line in the Annual Report, asking what went into that line. Mike Quigley passed the question to Dave Stockton, Executive Director of OBA who answers the question – This included OASF base funding, pandemic recovery funds, and other small project-based grants. Dave Stockton highlighted how the pandemic affected various OBA programs. Explained how programs bounced back after the pandemic.

Scrutineers shared the voting results of the board election. The newly elected Board Members are – Courtney Charles, Claude Nembhard, Michelle Farrell and Siobhan Wright. The Approval of MacNeill Edmunson to audit OBA's financial statements for 2022-23 and the By-Law Amendment were both rejected.

Darius questions how a current board member is allowed to be on the OBA board and JUEL board. Sabrina Brathwaite answered, explained why she believes there isn't a conflict of interest between both boards. Sam Moncada again questions the validity of the proxy votes and how they were collected. Sam makes a motion for the votes to be reviewed by a committee. Shaul Swartz and Leslie Johnson-Carmichael second the motion.

A second vote then took place regarding the motion brought forward by Sam Moncada, contesting the results of the election. Kathy Hare indicated that the motion would pass if it received 50% +1 of the votes in the room. Emily Acton set up the voting for that motion in ElectionBuddy, with an alternate voting method again provided if anyone had difficulties with ElectionBuddy.

Tom Oliveri asks who would be on the committee to review election validity. Kathy Hare explained that the committee would have to be chosen by members and should not have any conflicts of interest.

Voting for the motion began at 12:38pm. Once voting was completed, it was announced that the motion was rejected with more than 50% +1 of the votes in the room.

Regent Greg Varner thanked those who put their name forward but were not elected for the Board of Directors.

10. Closing Remarks

Kathy Hare thanked everyone for joining the meeting today.

11. Termination of the Meeting

Kathy Hare terminated the meeting at 1:00pm upon conclusion of the closing remarks.

Annual Meeting of Members – Attendees

Current Board

John Rocchi Heather LaFontaine Tom Oliveri Mike Quigley Sabrina Brathwaite Jeffrey Orridge Ryan Xavier

Board Nominees

Rodney Mano Claude Nembhard Marlon Greene

Voting Members

Joe Gagliardi Nick Biagini Leslie Johnson-Carmichael Shaul Shwartz Marlon Greene Nita Ngamba **Yvonne Campbell** Daniel Oghina Sam Moncada Gerrie Weldon Gerry Mcllhone Jonathan Hamilton Greg Verner **Renee Brosseau Michelle Howell** Jemino Sobers

Non-Voting Attendees

John Wilkinson (OBA Legal Counsel) Kathy Hare (Parliamentarian, Sport Law) Michael Bartlett (Canada Basketball) Ron Yeung (Canada Basketball) All current OBA staff members