Steve Nash Youth Basketball

Steve Nash Youth Basketball (SNYB) is a national youth basketball program designed to develop fundamental skills, sportsmanship, and a love of the game in young athletes ages 8 to 12. SNYB is a turnkey program, providing hosts with the full curriculum, participant materials, and coach training required to deliver the programming.  SNYB is flexible enough to allow organizers to adapt the program to their needs and resources while remaining aligned with the Sport Canada Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) Model. Athletes will learn the fundamental skills of the game of basketball through stage appropriate drills and games while building character and essential life skills.

Steve Nash Youth Basketball logo

Program Details

Curriculum

  • Weekly 60 minute practices for 12 weeks (designed for athletes ages 8-12)
  • Aligned with Long Term Athlete Development (LTAD) and Sport for Life (S4L) principles
  • Teaches fundamental movement and basic sport skills for the game of basketball
  • Highlights life skills such as communication, leadership, and goal setting to develop well-rounded youth athletes and human beings

Coaching

SNYB coaches receive free NCCP FUNdamentals Coach Training.

Cost

Based on facility and staffing costs associated with the local program.

Process

Interested in hosting a SNYB to host a program in your community? Please contact the SNYB Ambassador in your area (below) with any questions or email
Marlon Piedrahita

Process to Play

To play in a Steve Nash Youth Basketball program, contact a program in your area.

City/TownOrganizationsMain ContactE-mail
AyrAyr BasketballEmily Macdougallemacdougall03@gmail.com
TorontoBasketball BasicsAntony Nembhardbasketballbasics@rogers.com
BracebridgeBracebridge BreakersRon Loveron.love@mac.com
BurlingtonBurlington BasketballMark Caplanoperations@burlingtonbasketball.ca
CollingwoodCollingwood TrailblazersTerry Olaskeyjtolaskey@sympatico.ca
AjaxCommunity Justice Alternative DurhamKenroy Wilsonkwilson@cjadurham.org
WhitbyNew Horizon Basketball AcademyTitus Channertitus@newhorizonbasketball.com
BarrieNext Level BasketballScott Seeleyscottseels@hotmail.com
TorontoUofT Junior BluesOlivia Allenjunior.blues@utoronto.ca
YorkBasketball World TorontoMichael Reiomreio@bwt.ca
HamiltonHamilton Basketball AssociationJeremy Fritchleyjeremy.fritchley@gmail.com
Port RowenSt. Williams Youth BasketballDennis Lounsburydclounsbury@gmail.com
MississaugaDare to LoveLillian Mendozalillian@daretolovesportsclub.com
TorontoMegacity BasketballRJ Williamsrwilliams@megacitybasketball.com
TrentTrent UniversityCraig Barclaycraigbarclay@trentu.ca
Halton HillsTown of Halton HillsMarg TaylorMargaretT@haltonhills.ca
TorontoMiles Nadal JCCDaniel Eisenkraft KleinAthletics@mnjcc.org
StouffvilleTown of Whitchurch StouffvilleJen McEachenjen.mceachen@townofws.ca
OhswekenSix Nations Park & RecCindy Thomascthomas@sixnations.ca
PetawawaPSP PetawawaMadeline Denneyactingrecsupervisor@gmail.com
BordenPSP BordenKathleen SweeneyKATHLEEN.SWEENEY@forces.gc.ca
ETBA Summer Camp 2017

Summer Camp 2017

ETBA is pleased to offer Steve Nash Youth Basketball summer camp for boys and girls ages 8 to 12 in Scarborough this summer.

All participants will receive a jersey, basketball, drawstring bag, water bottle, certificate, and poster.

Additional details are outlined below.

Dates: Six one-week sessions from Tuesday, July 4 to Friday, August 11
Time: 1:00–5:00 p.m.
Location: Alexander Stirling Public School (70 Fawcett Trail, Scarborough)
Registration Fee: $45/week

Register online.

Contact

Host a SNYB program in your community!

Facebook reports: An access token is required to request this resource.

Contact

Marlon Piedrahita
Ontario – GTA

Gerry Benoit
Ontario – Ottawa Valley

Terry Olaskey
Ontario – Georgian Bay Region