2017 Minutes

Ontario Basketball Annual Meeting of Members

Saturday, November 4, 2017 at Abilities Centre (Whitby)

Approved at 2018 Annual Meeting of Members on Saturday, November 10, 2018 at Abilities Centre (Whitby)

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Parliamentarian Bob Borden at 1:30 p.m.

2. Opening Remarks (President)

Stephanie Rudnick thanked the Ontario Basketball (OBA) staff and Board of Directors for their tireless commitment to the organization. Additionally, she thanked outgoing Secretary David Errington and Director Sam Moncada for their time served on the Board of Directors. She recognized the presence of Canada Basketball President/CEO Michele O’Keefe and acknowledged the support of the OBA membership. The recent passing of legendary coach Paul “Doc” Thomas, member of the Ontario Basketball Hall of Fame as well as the Canadian Basketball Hall of Fame, was also acknowledged.

3. Appointment of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

Carmelo Mallia and Mike Selliah were appointed as scrutineers.

4. Report of Scrutineers (Parliamentarian)

The scrutineers reported that there were 72 votes in the room.

5. Approval of Agenda

The election (previously item #12) was shifted to take place earlier in the meeting (item #9). The amended agenda was unanimously approved by the membership.

6. Minutes of Last Meetings – Annual Meeting of Members (November 5, 2016)

The members were asked to review the minutes of the 2016 Annual Meeting of Members and bring any corrections forward.

7. Approval of Minutes

With no corrections brought forward for the 2016 Annual Meeting of Members minutes, Borden announced that the minutes were approved as printed.

8. Business Arising out of the Minutes

There was no business arising out of the minutes.

9. Election

Borden introduced Nominating Chair John Lovett. Lovett invited the attending nominees to speak for one minute each. Following the nominees addressing those in attendance, all remaining ballots were submitted.

10. Board & Program Committee Reports

I. Executive Committee (President)

There was no report.

II. Finance Committee (Director of Finance or Designate)

  • Report of the Auditors

Ontario Basketball Treasurer David Coulthard and Executive Director Jason Jansson reported another successful financial year for the organization, and the surplus generated will be used, in part, to replenish OBA’s contingency fund. As approved by the membership, the financial statements of OBA were audited by MacNeill Edmundson Professional Corporation for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2017.

  • Appointment of Auditors

Motion: To appoint auditors MacNeill Edmundson for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2018.

Moved by Barbara Capes, Seconded by Darlene White, CARRIED

11. Staff Reports

I. Presentation of Ontario Basketball Annual Report

Jansson announced that Ontario Basketball’s 2016-17 Annual Report was posted online at www.basketball.on.ca on Thursday, November 2, 2017. Additionally, Jansson highlighted the staff and organization for meeting the requirements of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport’s Sport Recognition Policy as Ontario Basketball has been recognized as the governing body for basketball in the province. The membership had no questions with respect to the report.

12. Notice of Motions

There were no motions for discussion or adoption.

13. Announcement of Directors (Chair, Nominating Committee)

Lovett announced Barbara Capes, David Coulthard (Incumbent) and Claude Nembhard as the successful candidates of the Board of Directors election.

14. Motion to Destroy Ballots (Chair, Nominating Committee)

Motion: To destroy the 2017 election ballots.

Moved by John Lovett, Seconded by David Coulthard, CARRIED

15. New Business

Terry Chatten asked for clarity on the implementation of the new policy whereby OBA no longer accepts cheques as a method of payment. Jansson summarized the rationale and offered support to any member club that has any challenges with the new guidelines.

16. Closing Remarks (President)

Rudnick thanked the membership as a whole for their commitment to amateur basketball and recognized the members that were in attendance at the meeting.

17. Adjournment

Motion: To adjourn the 2017 Annual Meeting of Members.

Moved by John Lovett, Seconded by Barbara Capes, CARRIED


Members in Attendance

Eugene AdamoPeterborough Youth Basketball Association
Chris SullivanPeterborough Youth Basketball Association
Paul AndersonGloucester Cumberland Basketball Association
Barbara CapesNorth Toronto Basketball Association
Mark FrancisKW Vipers
Vanessa LodgeGuelph Youth Basketball Association
Greg VernerOrangeville Hawks
Darlene WhiteYork North Basketball Association
Jaime McCaigOntario Association of Basketball Officials
Chris EastonNorth Toronto Basketball Association
Rob WhiteBelleville Spirits
Della LatellaTeam Breakdown
Michele O’KeefeCanada Basketball
Claude NembhardYork North Basketball Association
Erica GavelOntario Basketball Board of Directors
John LovettBrantford Briars/Ontario Basketball Board of Directors
Stephanie RudnickScarborough Basketball Association/Ontario Basketball Board of Directors
Mike QuigleyKW Vipers/Ontario Basketball Board of Directors
John RocchiBlessed Sacrament/Ontario Basketball Board of Directors
David CoulthardOntario Basketball Board of Directors
Peter JonesScarborough Basketball Association
Vedat AbaciogluScarborough Basketball Association
Terry ChattenOrillia Lakers